Search This Blog

Sunday, March 11, 2012

SLMA Honours Women Doctors

Two members of our batch received this Outstanding Health Professional Award 2012. They are:
Dr. Chirasri Mallawarachchi Jayaweera Bandara (Consultant Ophthalmologist)
Dr. Suriyakanthi Karunaratne Amarasekera (Consultant Anaesthesiologist)


SLMA honours women doctors

For the first time in its 125-year history, the Sri Lanka Medical Association honoured 15 women doctors, who have made an enormous contribution not only for the benefit of Sri Lankans but also the world, at a simple ceremony held at the SLMA auditorium on International Women’s Day last Thursday.
Special awardee: Prof. Priyani Soysa receiving her award from Chief Guest Prof. Lalitha Mendis as Dr. Vajira Dissanayake looks on
The ‘Outstanding Health Professional Awards 2012’ were presented to Dr. Selvi Perera, Prof. Dulitha Fernando, Dr. Malani De Silva, Prof. Leela De A. Karunarathne, Dr. Maya Atapattu, Dr. Nalini Withana, Dr. C. D. Jayaweera Bandara, Dr. Stella De Silva, Prof. Priyani Soysa, Prof. Anoja Fernando, Prof. Gita Fernando, Dr. Suriyakanthi Amarasekara, Prof. Lalitha Mendis. Dr. Premini Amerasinghe and Dr. U. Weerasinghe. There was a special felicitation for Prof. Priyani Soysa.

Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2012 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution

1 comment:

  1. Well done Chirasri and Suriyakanthi. You are a credit to Sr lanka and our batch is I am sure proud to be associated with you. Speedy