Search This Blog

Thursday, March 17, 2011

50th Anniversary Reunion Planning Committee

The 50th Anniversary Reunion Planning Committee met for the very first time at Swyrie Balendra's residence on March 14th, 2011. Starting off early, one would think. But that's how it should be. Success of an event depends on how well it is planned. The purpose of the meeting was mainly to brainstorm on probable dates and venues. Final decisions will be conveyed to the batch once they are finalised.

The committee comprises of:

Swyrie Balendra - Chairperson
Priya de Silva
Pramilla Senanayake
Surangani Fernando
Lucian Perera
Sriani Basnayake
J.C. Fernando
S.A.P. Gnanissara
Lakshman Abeyagunawardene

Suriyakanthi Amarasekera was not present at the first meeting. However, Anton Ambrose participated as a guest.


  1. A remarkable list of eminent people. We owe so much to them. With all the newfangled theories of teaching being bandied about these days, the teaching we had was the finest, as judged by outcomes. I especially owe a huge debt of gratitude to my favourite teacher, mentor, Consultant, Boss Dr Wickrema Wijenaike who to this day, remains unsurpased as a Teacher and an astute doctor.

  2. So nice to see familiar faces. There is somebody wearing a white shirt who is difficult to see, may be he is JC! Good luck to the committee and I await further developments. Why not publish the long list of Professorial chairs occupied by our batchmates? You could also list achievers in other spheres too.